FPL Calculator (Federal Poverty Level) – 2022

The 2022 FPL (federal poverty level) for a single person residing in the 48 contiguous states or Washington, D.C. is $13,590. In Alaska, the federal poverty level for a single person is $16,990 and in Hawaii it is $15,630.

The FPL is used for purposes of determining qualifications for assistance programs such as Medicaid, CHIP, ACA Marketplace health insurance subsidies, etc.

On this page you can calculate Federal Poverty Levels two ways.

Option 1: Calculate the FPL based on your income



Option 2: Get Federal Poverty Levels Without Entering Your Income

Use the fpl calculator below to get annual and monthly poverty level amounts for all states, including percentages of poverty levels such as 133% of the FPL, or 135%, 138%, 150%, 175%, and so forth for household sizes up to 10 people.

What percentage of the Federal Poverty Level do you need to calculate?

Which state do you live in?

How many people are in your household including yourself?

Do you want the annual or monthly result?

This simple poverty level calculator does not require you to input your income. It simply lets you know the federal poverty level income amounts in your state depending on your household size and whether you are looking for an annual or monthly result. You can retrieve the results of various percentages of federal poverty levels as well as monthly and annual amounts.

You can also calculate by state or view the prior years poverty level charts.

This site is supported by advertisements and income earning affiliate links. More.

Make sure visit our resources page to learn about more programs that can benefit you.

Why do you need to know about the Federal Poverty Level (FPL)?

The Federal Poverty Level is a measurement that describes the minimum income a person needs in order to pay for bare living essentials. Federal poverty guidelines are used to determine eligibility for assistance programs.

These guidelines are often referred to as the Federal Poverty Level or FPL. Assistance programs have caps on the income a person can receive in order to qualify, and often express these limits as a percentage of the Federal Poverty Level.

For instance, a program’s poverty level income requirement might be 100% of the Federal Poverty Level, 133%, 138%, 150%, 200%, 250%, 300%, 400%, and so forth.

Many organizations utilize poverty level income guidelines as standards to establish qualification for individuals and families for various programs, benefits, resources, and systems including health departments and healthcare plans, RX, Medicaid, CHIP, Child Support, Child Tax Credits, Elder Care/Senior Care and more. The FPL should not be confused with the Federal Benefit Rate (FBR) or the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) Limit.

Healthcare.gov and HealthSherpa.com which is a third party site for enrolling in ACA (Affordable Care Act) health insurance plans due to its ease of use and streamlined interface, uses the poverty level income guidelines to calculate ACA health insurance subsidies which affect the out of pocket costs of your marketplace health insurance. Use the ACA Affordability Calculator to see if your employer’s health plan is considered affordable or not according to Affordable Care Act (ACA) guidelines.

Medicaid and Medicare plans including DSNP (dual eligible medicare/medicaid plans), CHIP (children’s health insurance), SNAP (Food Assistance), and many other assistance programs utilize the poverty level guidelines to establish levels of qualification.

This site is supported by advertisements and income earning affiliate links. Disclosure.